How to physically connect a VPN Bridge

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
shawn_d_wood

How to physically connect a VPN Bridge

Post by shawn_d_wood » Mon Dec 14, 2015 7:45 pm

I'm far from a network expert (novice is probably the best word), so I apologize in advance if I'm asking stupid questions. I am trying to connect 2 LAN's in 2 separate locations so that they become a single LAN with the main LAN controlling DHCP. I've established the VPN server on the main LAN.

But I'm trying to figure out how to set up the VPN Bridge device on the other LAN, and want to understand it properly since I need to purchase equipment for it. On that LAN is currently a Cable Modem connected to a Wireless router serving a dozen devices.

So, on this second LAN - If I understand the documentation, I would have a Windows box with 2 NIC cards. I would plug this Bridge computer in between the Modem and the Router (meaning that the Modem would have 1 network cable to one of the NIC's, and the other NIC would then have a cable running to the WAN port of the Router). I would alter the Router to have a different IP address than the router in the main LAN and turn off the DHCP on the Router. Then, if I understand it all, all the wireless devices on this 2nd LAN would have their DHCP requests, and all internet traffic routed through the Bridge to the main LAN.

Is that correct, or am I missing something obvious? Also, how would I alter the setup if I wanted to support 2 Wireless networks on the 2nd LAN - one with traffic routed through the VPN, and another with traffic bypassing the Bridge and working directly with the modem?

mbrcomp

Re: How to physically connect a VPN Bridge

Post by mbrcomp » Tue Dec 15, 2015 7:46 am

Hello, can you please post a schematic of the networking setup with IP numbers ? Use generic IPs not to give anything away... :)

shawn_d_wood

Post by shawn_d_wood » Tue Dec 15, 2015 3:25 pm