Is it possible to configure SoftEther to only be using port 443?

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
skyfly555
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:24 am

Is it possible to configure SoftEther to only be using port 443?

Post by skyfly555 » Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:27 am

Hello, I’ve read all the documentation but I don’t find any instruction about this.

Is it possible? Do you know how to do this?

Thank you,

colapig
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 5:36 am

Re: Is it possible to configure SoftEther to only be using port 443?

Post by colapig » Tue Apr 10, 2018 9:38 am

remove unwanted listener port from VPN server.

skyfly555
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:24 am

Re: Is it possible to configure SoftEther to only be using port 443?

Post by skyfly555 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:13 pm

Thank you, I’ll do that and check the solution you provide.

skyfly555
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:24 am

Re: Is it possible to configure SoftEther to only be using port 443?

Post by skyfly555 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:56 pm

Hello, I tried that. It doesn't help!

I've been playing with my home router, opening and closing ports.
The default ports are: 4500, 1701, 500.

If I close 1701, nothing changes. If I open 443, nothing changes.
If I open ONLY 443, it doesn't work.
If I open ONLY 4500 or 500 or 1701, VPN connection doesn't work.
If I open 4500 and 1701, it doesn't work.
If I open 500 and 1701, it doesn't work.

If I open 500 and 4500, 443 can be open or closed (it doesn't matter), it WORKS.

So, VPN connection needs ports 500 AND 4500 open, and it's not using 443 neither 1701 ports.

What do I have to do if I want all the traffic going through port 443, the same as when OpenVPN uses only 1194 port, but 443 instead of 1194?

Thank you!

colapig
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 5:36 am

Re: Is it possible to configure SoftEther to only be using port 443?

Post by colapig » Wed Apr 11, 2018 1:30 am

not in the router, keep port forward of 500, 4500 and 443.
you need to do it on the vpn server manager.

skyfly555
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:24 am

Re: Is it possible to configure SoftEther to only be using port 443?

Post by skyfly555 » Wed Apr 11, 2018 11:49 am

Thank you,

Although in using it on a Raspberry Pi server with Debian Sretch and I only have terminal, so I'll check how to do that using vpncmd.

thisjun
Posts: 2686
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:03 am

Re: Is it possible to configure SoftEther to only be using port 443?

Post by thisjun » Fri Apr 27, 2018 3:29 am

What VPN client do you use?

Post Reply