It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 3:45 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2017 11:08 am 

Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:49 pm
Posts: 6
Hi,
I have been using Softether for 4 years using the Site to Site cascade connection and local bridge set at both location and it work as expected like a Layer 2 bridge. Both site use consumer Soho routers.

I recently replaced the Soho router at the Server site and started using a pfSense Router/ Firewall with the same port forwarded. The VPN is able to connect but it does not function correctly. Some of the network PC will not show up. I cant ping some machines but can ping other.

It seems I need to set up some route or setting on the pfsense. Both the softether Server and Bridge machines have not changed in any way.

Thank you


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 5:52 pm 

Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:49 pm
Posts: 6
I guess no one here uses pfSense Firewall.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 5:55 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:03 am
Posts: 2292
Please try to disable NAT-T and UDP acceleration mode.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2017 11:05 am 

Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:49 pm
Posts: 6
Thank you Thisjun,

The changes you suggested fixed the issue.

Can you explain why when using my SOHO ASUS router I could leave the NAT-T and UDP acceleration enabled? MY understanding is using these features speed up the VPN connection.

Now using pfSense I have to disable these 2 options. Is this due to pfSense being a more powerful firewall then the SOHO router? Is there setting on the pfsense that would allow me to to use the NAT-T and UDP Acceleration.

Thanks again for you help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:34 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:03 am
Posts: 2292
With some router, UDP packets are lost periodically.
However, we couldn't find the cause.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 10:53 am 

Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2017 10:20 am
Posts: 5
HI, i have some problem with PFsense.
Could you post setting of rules, nat and routing.

Bye
Alex


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Return to www.softether.org