Need clarification on bridge + troubleshooting "No Internet Connection"

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
tonstwo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:27 am

Need clarification on bridge + troubleshooting "No Internet Connection"

Post by tonstwo » Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:38 am

Okay first of all here's the setup I have going on right now:
Office 1 - has 1 pc with a SoftEther VPN Server installed.
Office 2 - each pc has VPN Client installed to connect to VPN server via pc in Office 1.

So my first question, is it better to replace the VPN Clients on each PC with just one VPN Bridge in one PC - and therefore allowing all PCs in Office 2 access to the network in Office 1? I have read some the documentation but have yet to try VPN Bridge, and just need clarification on how it works before implementing.

Second, I am currently having an issue where if I connect to the VPN via Client, I lose internet connection - with VPN Client indicating "Active connection to 1 server".

Any troubleshooting tips for me and ideas?

vlaryk
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 2:20 pm

Re: Need clarification on bridge + troubleshooting "No Internet Connection"

Post by vlaryk » Fri Jul 13, 2018 12:20 pm

1. Yes, it will be better
2. Look this post:
http://www.vpnusers.com/viewtopic.php?f ... c03d37c94a

centeredki69
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:49 pm

Re: Need clarification on bridge + troubleshooting "No Internet Connection"

Post by centeredki69 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 5:37 pm

Hello TONSTWO,

Yes the cassade L2 bridge is better. But is take a little more to setup.

When the clients connect do they get a pop up window that says they received and IP address of some kind? If not you need to create a "local bridge"
or use "secure NAT"

Local bridge : clients will receive ip address form DHCP server at server site and have access to Server site ( office 1's) local network.

Secure Nat: Clients will receive a ip from Secure NAT DHCP server and will be isolated from the servers ( office 1's) local network.

tonstwo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:27 am

Re: Need clarification on bridge + troubleshooting "No Internet Connection"

Post by tonstwo » Sat Jul 14, 2018 6:00 am

vlaryk wrote:
> 1. Yes, it will be better
> 2. Look this post:
>
> http://www.vpnusers.com/viewtopic.php?f ... c03d37c94a

Following the advice on the link you gave easily fixed my problem. Thanks!

Post Reply