Always Prompt for User Name and Password

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
palustec
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 6:32 pm

Always Prompt for User Name and Password

Post by palustec » Tue Feb 26, 2019 6:40 pm

I am trying to find a way to set the Softether client to ALWAYS require the user to enter a user name & password.

TIA,

Palustec

drumeng
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 4:21 pm

Re: Always Prompt for User Name and Password

Post by drumeng » Wed Mar 20, 2019 4:30 pm

This is a user setting which can be set on the Virtual Hub
The setting prevents storing the password on the client to allow automatic login.

Using the Server Manager tool, connect to the hub and press Manage Virtual Hub -> Manage Users .
Choose ( highlight) the user you would like to manage and press Edit.
In the upper right hand corner, check Set Security Policy, then press Security Policy.
Scroll down and enable Disallow Password Save in VPN Client.

gogeekgo
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:04 pm

Re: Always Prompt for User Name and Password

Post by gogeekgo » Tue Apr 30, 2019 3:57 pm

This feature however does not work if you are using LDAP/Radius authentication. It only works if you have your users listed locally on the VPN server.

joaofidalgo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2024 5:32 pm

Re: Always Prompt for User Name and Password

Post by joaofidalgo » Thu Mar 14, 2024 6:13 pm

If the connection drops down, it doesn't ask for the password again, it connects automaticaly, is there a way to force password input if the connection fail, or the pc hibernate.

solo
Posts: 1341
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 10:31 am

Re: Always Prompt for User Name and Password

Post by solo » Thu Mar 14, 2024 10:27 pm

Uncheck "Reconnects Automatically After Disconnected".
Also but on the server side, could set "VPN Client Automatic Disconnect".

joaofidalgo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2024 5:32 pm

Re: Always Prompt for User Name and Password

Post by joaofidalgo » Fri Mar 15, 2024 12:16 pm

Done that, when connection drops down, just do retry and it connects again without propmt password.

I want to force everytime the connection drops down, wether is hibernate, suspend, lost of internet... allways prompt password.
The only way it prompt for password is if i disconnecte and ther connect again.

Thanks

Post Reply