Issues with TCP connections and speeds

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
mrpijey

Issues with TCP connections and speeds

Post by mrpijey » Sat Nov 16, 2019 11:53 am

Hello!

First of all, thanks for an excellent product. I've been using SoftEther for several years now and it's been great up until now. I am using it to tie a hosting server on the net to my private server at home to exchange smb traffic, and since it needs to be secure a VPN tunnel using SoftEther is used. Traffic is mostly SMB as the clients connect to it and pulls data from a network share on my server. It's also meant to be used to sync volumes between the main server and backup server. All the data is always flowing from the main connection to the clients, never the other way around, so the only bandwidth that is needed by the clients is download speed.

This is my current setup (simplified):

Home connection (Sweden):

1000/500Mbit. Running SoftEther VPN Server in a Hyper-V VM. No limitations on the server in terms of allowed TCP connections etc. No SecureNAT. Clients connect to it and gets an IP from my DHCP server.

Primary offsite connection (Germany):

1000/1000Mbit. Running SoftEther VPN client in a Hyper-V VM. Dials in to my server, set to 8 TCP connections to max out available bandwidth. Getting around 300-400Mbit-ish speeds depending on server load and routing etc. It pulls data through an SMB share on the main server (Sweden), acting as a relay for the data located in Sweden.

Secondary offsite connection (UK):

300/50 connection. Runs SoftEther VPN client in a Hyper-V VM, with identical configuration as the German connection above. Meant to be used to sync volumes between the main server (Sweden) and backup server (UK) using sync software (RoboCopy, SyncThing, FastCopy etc)