Correct mindset

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
socar

Correct mindset

Post by socar » Tue Mar 24, 2020 11:18 pm

Hi all,
I'm new to SoftEther. Previous experience with OpenVPN was great, but I'm really FED UP configuring OpenVPN using notepad on Windows servers, thus I decided to give SoftEther a try.

I'm trying to setup SIMPLE VPN:
  • I have a public server (small VPS on aruba cloud)
  • I want to install two clients in my networks that would connect to the server and access resources thru Windows Share
  • To simplyfy: Server have a windows share, Client1 have a windows share, Client2 have a windows share. Everyone and each other should be able to access their windows share. Shares are shared with "everyone" permission.
  • No traffic forwarding
What I did:
  • I installed SoftEther Server (Hub mode, with SecureNAT, connection over certificates) on "main" VPS I got (received 192.168.30.1)
  • I installed SoftEether Client on my laptop, disabled "routing" and changed NIC mark to 99 so no traffic routing (received 192.168.30.10)
  • 192.168.30.10 can ping 192.168.30.1 and the other way around. They cant however access windows share mentioned earlier (nor RDP etc)
[/list]

What I TRIED to resolve that problem
  • I installed another SoftEther Client on my VPS and configured it to use localhost Server. This server-side client received 192.168.30.11
  • I then could access the share's on 192.168.30.10 (primary client) and 102.168.30.11 (client on the server)
MAJOR setback
Setting up above causes that my VPS burns to hell - uses 99% of mem and 99% of CPU all the time. I tested that this concept works and shut down the server. the VPS is small one (1core 2GB ram) but I did not had such issues with OpenVPN in past which is there for the same purpose.