How we can make SoftEther VPN better

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
andrewfer000

How we can make SoftEther VPN better

Post by andrewfer000 » Sat Aug 01, 2020 3:22 pm

I know I just posted about IPv6 connection issues but that got me thinking on some of the other (few) weaknesses and problems with SoftEther VPN server and how we can possibly solve them. While I am not a skilled programmer or network engineer myself (yet) I hope my suggestions can help brew some ideas for the developers of this killer VPN software.

Here is a simple list of what I will be talking about -
  • More SecureNAT features such as setting IP and Virtual NAT based on username that spans across all protocols and IPv6 DHCP support.
  • Full IPv6 support for SoftEther clients and OpenVPN (and maybe SSTP? and others if possible)
  • Remove all references to the old PacketIX software
  • Improve documentation. Especially client setup on modern GNU/Linux distributions such as Ubuntu 20.04 (Maybe a GUI client written in Python or C++ & Qt in the future?)
  • Remove as many "Soft Limits" as possible
  • It's not 2011 anymore! Make the website and icons more 2020!
  • Mobile Support
  • Now here's the most important one, Open up for donations!
Okay so here is where I go into more details in order of the list
  • SecureNAT is one of the best parts of SoftEther VPN since it allows me to create isolated virtual networks in just a few commands or clicks.