How can I make SoftEther VPN only capture certain traffic? [solved]

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
JonahSwersey

How can I make SoftEther VPN only capture certain traffic? [solved]

Post by JonahSwersey » Tue Aug 10, 2021 7:25 am

Hi, I'm a sysadmin who's relatively new to VPNs. I set up SoftEther VPN for a project of mine, and I've found that it seems to be capturing all traffic, so that when I run the VPN, it catches things like Youtube and reroutes that traffic through our main servers.

I don't want this to happen. I need our VPN to only capture traffic that's heading to our servers, or our local domain. I want to set it up so that our users can have SoftEther VPN running, connect to servers in our domain, but not route that podcast they're listening to or Webinar they're giving through our VPN server. Is this possible?

We've got a private domain in the 10.x.x.x range, subnet 255.255.255.0. It's all routed through a single externally-accessible IP address, but I don't know how relevant that is for VPN routing. Anything that isn't aimed at that internal, private domain should bypass VPN.

I do not know how to do this. I found some tips online that say it has to do with the NAT routing table, which I have attempted to set up:
ip addresses.JPG
10.0.0.0 is our local domain's IP space, 10.0.0.1 is the gateway. This still routes all traffic through the VPN, though...
pathping.JPG
...so clearly I'm doing something wrong.

Any support (be it solving the problem or helping me understand what the solution should look like) is greatly appreciated. :) Additionally, there are probably technical terms for what I'm describing... But I don't know them. So any help in that regards would be greatly appreciated.

EDIT: additionally, now, when I'm in the office but not on the VPN, I have no access to other websites. I'm guessing that has something to do with this recent change.