Why i can only configure Bridge with Windows admin tool - not client-to-server?

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
ujbxegwfdh
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2022 3:00 pm
Location: CH
Contact:

Why i can only configure Bridge with Windows admin tool - not client-to-server?

Post by ujbxegwfdh » Wed Aug 31, 2022 3:11 pm

Image

If i unckeck that bridge thing, the next button will disable - so the "Remote Access VPN Server" is not installed by default and also not installable (disabled)

Why? And how to solve that?

Thank you very very much for your feedback(s).
Last edited by ujbxegwfdh on Mon Sep 05, 2022 9:59 am, edited 2 times in total.
With best regards,
Jan

ujbxegwfdh
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2022 3:00 pm
Location: CH
Contact:

Re: Why i can only configure Bride with Windows admin tool - not client-to-server?

Post by ujbxegwfdh » Wed Aug 31, 2022 3:18 pm

Here in that "tutorial" it isn't: https://www.softether.org/4-docs/2-howt ... VPN_to_LAN

Why that...? OS is Debian 11 64Bit with most current updates as a VirtualBox VM for test purposes.
With best regards,
Jan

ujbxegwfdh
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2022 3:00 pm
Location: CH
Contact:

Re: Why i can only configure Bridge with Windows admin tool - not client-to-server?

Post by ujbxegwfdh » Wed Aug 31, 2022 3:35 pm

How can i show that config dialog again? After it was configured once, i can't show it again?

"The first time is that last time"
- Or something like that...?
With best regards,
Jan

ujbxegwfdh
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2022 3:00 pm
Location: CH
Contact:

Re: Why i can only configure Bridge with Windows admin tool - not client-to-server?

Post by ujbxegwfdh » Fri Sep 02, 2022 2:52 pm

???
With best regards,
Jan

solo
Posts: 512
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 10:31 am

Re: Why i can only configure Bridge with Windows admin tool - not client-to-server?

Post by solo » Sat Sep 03, 2022 12:32 am

Relax, that config dialog is merely a preset helper, or GUI "wizard", and you can later re-configure everything directly in any way you wish.

That said, if you insist on seeing it yet again, I wrote a script for you...

Code: Select all

Show-GUI-Wizard.bat
-------------------
@echo off
net stop "SoftEther VPN Server"
del /f /q "C:\Program Files\SoftEther VPN Server\vpn_server.config"
rd /s /q "C:\Program Files\SoftEther VPN Server\backup.vpn_server.config"
reg delete "HKCU\Software\SoftEther Corporation\PacketiX VPN\Server Manager\Settings" /v Setting1 /f
net start "SoftEther VPN Server"
pause

ujbxegwfdh
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2022 3:00 pm
Location: CH
Contact:

Re: Why i can only configure Bridge with Windows admin tool - not client-to-server?

Post by ujbxegwfdh » Sat Sep 03, 2022 10:08 am

Thank you very much - will look on it ASAP!! :-)
With best regards,
Jan

ujbxegwfdh
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2022 3:00 pm
Location: CH
Contact:

Re: Why i can only configure Bridge with Windows admin tool - not client-to-server?

Post by ujbxegwfdh » Mon Sep 05, 2022 9:50 am

BUT: How can i do it from begin, so BEFORE it is installed? Do i need so start the installer with a special parameter in cmd.exe? Thanks in advance for your feedback(s) :-)
With best regards,
Jan

solo
Posts: 512
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 10:31 am

Re: Why i can only configure Bridge with Windows admin tool - not client-to-server?

Post by solo » Mon Sep 05, 2022 1:57 pm

In that case run this script...

Code: Select all

Show-GUI-Wizard-BEFORE-it-is-installed.bat
------------------------------------------
@echo off
rem net stop "SoftEther VPN Server"
del /f /q "C:\Program Files\SoftEther VPN Server\vpn_server.config"
rd /s /q "C:\Program Files\SoftEther VPN Server\backup.vpn_server.config"
reg delete "HKCU\Software\SoftEther Corporation\PacketiX VPN\Server Manager\Settings" /v Setting1 /f
rem net start "SoftEther VPN Server"
pause
:-)

ujbxegwfdh
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2022 3:00 pm
Location: CH
Contact:

Re: Why i can only configure Bridge with Windows admin tool - not client-to-server?

Post by ujbxegwfdh » Mon Sep 05, 2022 2:24 pm

OK, so thank you very much! :-)

(If there is no other way - which is a lil bit "speical" i.m.o...)
With best regards,
Jan

ujbxegwfdh
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2022 3:00 pm
Location: CH
Contact:

Re: Why i can only configure Bridge with Windows admin tool - not client-to-server?

Post by ujbxegwfdh » Mon Sep 05, 2022 2:35 pm

Hmmm...

Now i tried it first without "run as admin", then with echo = on and "run as admin"...

Output:

[img]https://i.ibb.co/F7xvqJG/Unbenannt.jpg[/img]

NOTE: I just want to use that tool to administrate the server - because of that my question how to connect to client -> server (not to understand i want to establish a VPN connection, i just want to establish a "configuration connect" (via http or however it works?) - not building a "vpn bridge"...

So:

- The SoftEther VPN server software does run on another server with Debian 11
- I don't want to use the SoftEther VPN client... after the Debian 11 server is correctly configured via 'softether-vpnserver_vpnbridge-v4.38-9760-rtm-2021.08.17-windows-x86_x64-intel' (where i selected "Admin tools" ONLY - no "server", and also no "Client")
With best regards,
Jan

solo
Posts: 512
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 10:31 am

Re: Why i can only configure Bridge with Windows admin tool - not client-to-server?

Post by solo » Mon Sep 05, 2022 3:24 pm

Let's recap - the script(s) bring back the "Easy Setup" screen you asked for, before or after installation.
You can not use "that tool to administrate the server" because the "Easy Setup" appears only when all settings are reset or non-existent .

Again, the "Easy Setup" is optional as all settings are still available to you after installation. Finally, you can use SoftEther VPN Server Manager GUI for Windows to remotely configure your Debian 11 server and you do not need the "Easy Setup" there at all.

ujbxegwfdh
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2022 3:00 pm
Location: CH
Contact:

Re: Why i can only configure Bridge with Windows admin tool - not client-to-server?

Post by ujbxegwfdh » Mon Sep 05, 2022 3:38 pm

Thank you very much - will look on it ASAP :-)
With best regards,
Jan

Post Reply