Routing or Firewall?

Post your questions about SoftEther VPN software here. Please answer questions if you can afford.
Post Reply
Neavian
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2024 7:57 pm

Routing or Firewall?

Post by Neavian » Fri Apr 26, 2024 8:05 pm

Hey everyone!

I've got a Mikrotik router (also serving as a DHCP server) with the address 10.8.145.1. The network is 10.8.145.0/24, and there's a SoftEther VPN server at 10.8.145.2.

When I connect through VPN, everything works fine (both external and internal resources), except for accessing resources at 10.8.145.2. If I move DHCP to 10.8.145.2 using dnsmasq, access to 10.8.145.2 becomes available, and everything works smoothly. However, DHCP needs to stay on the router in my case.

Appreciate any insights or advice!

solo
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 10:31 am

Re: Routing or Firewall?

Post by solo » Sat Apr 27, 2024 7:38 am


Neavian
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2024 7:57 pm

Re: Routing or Firewall?

Post by Neavian » Sat Apr 27, 2024 10:57 am

I meant that clients connected to the VPN have access to the entire 10.8.145.0/24 network except for the server hosting the VPN. If I move DHCP from the router to the same server, clients gain access even to 10.8.145.2.

I've tried setting up connections both through SecureNAT and local bridge, but the situation remains unchanged.

solo
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 10:31 am

Re: Routing or Firewall?

Post by solo » Sat Apr 27, 2024 12:07 pm

No need for repetition. Both SE connection methods to a Linux host require interventions already described in the link.

Neavian
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2024 7:57 pm

Re: Routing or Firewall?

Post by Neavian » Sat Apr 27, 2024 12:09 pm

set DisableKernelModeSecureNAT to 1 work for me! Thx a lot!

Post Reply